h1

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.”

July 11, 2011

Almost two months ago I left the job that I’d been doing for three years to…well, really, to do nothing.  The job I thought I’d be doing didn’t work out and so for a month I had no job. I think that may be the one of the most uncomfortable feelings that you can have. I was uncomfortable with not working. That’s the best way to describe how I felt. I job hunted for a month before I got a call for an interview that I was excited about. After three hours of interview, I walked away with a job.

And a slight hesitation in my step.

Not about the job itself, though. I am a caregiver at a Senior Adult Assisted Living Community. I clean, take out the trash, make beds, serve meals and just be there for any of the residents that need a little help.  It’s a little like taking care of kids. They’re just taller and they have wrinkles. Some have more wrinkles than others. And some aren’t all that tall. But they are kind of like kids. I really do enjoy the job. So what could possibly be my hesitation?

I have to be at work at 5:55. 5:55AM. Yes, you did read that right. As a friend of mine said, “I spent four years of college avoiding 8 o’clock classes because they were too early and now I have to be at work before the sun does!” As I told friends and family about this new job they were encouraging and excited until they found my hours. Then they just laughed. Hysterically. And then they asked if they should call my new coworkers to warn them about my, umm, slight early morning attitude.  I was not amused.

The time is STINKIN’ early but I’m finding that I really enjoy the job and the people. That’s what this is really about. The people. At the suggestion of an exceptionally awesome blogger/friend, I’m going to tell my stories. They may be few and far between but they’re worth telling. I work with some amazing people. Two Air Force Colonels, an elementary teacher that taught in Cape Cod during the time of the Kennedys, a nurse and a few that will soon pass the century mark.

Excited yet?

One comment

  1. Very. 😉



Leave a comment