h1

“Once Upon a Time…”

December 31, 2012

“Pleeeeaaasssseeee? Please tell me a story?” He looked at me and used his best “puppy dog sad eyes.”

 

“Buddy, it’s past your bedtime and I don’t really know any stories right now.”

 

“Yes you do! Just tell me a little one.”

 

“Here’s what we’ll do, remind me the next time I’m here and we’ll start bedtime early enough that we can make up a story.”

 

“Okay and here’s what else we’re going to do. Every time you’re here, we’ll add to the story. Okay?”

 

“Okay, sounds like a good plan. Goodnight Budd-”

 

“Please just tell me a little bit of the story? Just the tiniest little bit?”

 

“Okay…Once upon a time in a far away land, a land full of dragons, dinosaurs and giant bugs, ther-”

 

“Giant bugs? Really, Miss Elizabeth? They would burn up in the fire.”

 

“Fire? What fire?”

 

“Well, you said it was a fire land.”

 

“No, I said it was a FAR away land.”

 

“OH! That makes more sense. You may continue.”

 

“Thank you…In a land with giant bugs, there was a little boy. A little boy that loved adventures but he had never been on a real adventure until the day of the Grand Adventure…okay, goodnight buddy.”

 

“Wait! That’s it?!?”

 

“Hey, you wanted a little bit so that’s what you’re getting. Also, that’s all I’ve got right now. You’ll just have to wait until next time.”

 

“But, but…” Sigh. “Okay. Goodnight.”

 

 

 

Looks like I’ll be writing a story. I love this kid.

Leave a comment