h1

“Heart of my heart”

August 4, 2011

The Longhorns are a couple that I work with. Mr. Longhorn was a pilot in the Air Force and retired a Lieutenant Colonel. Mrs. Longhorn was a stay at home mom until, for reasons unknown to me, she had a few procedures done and they made her crazy. Literally.

Mr. and Mrs. Longhorn are the couple that everyone dreads dealing with. She’s crazy, he’s loud, rude and demanding. You get the idea. No one really enjoys working with them. But for some reason, Mr. Longhorn likes me.

It might have something to with our slight difference of opinion in college football teams. I’m an Aggie and he’s, you guessed it, a Longhorn fan. This has led to some good natured ribbing. For example, the other day during lunch he asked if we had any punch. I reached over, pushed his shoulder a little with my fist and said “yes, there it is.” He laughed then replied, “Smart ass, Aggie. Only they would think that’s funny.” It’s a strange relationship that I’m learning to appreciate.

This morning we had gotten them ready for breakfast and they were headed out the door when Mr. Longhorn stopped Mrs. Longhorn. He turned his chair around to face her, took her hand and said something I’ll never forget.

“Heart of my heart, constant in all of my best memories, more precious to me than all the treasures in the world. I love you more each day and I couldn’t live my life without you.” Then he leaned over, gave her a kiss and walked(wheeled) them out the door holding her hand.

My co-worker and I were left standing in their room with tears rolling down our faces. I’ve never heard anyone say something that precious. We spent the rest of the day quietly smiling whenever we saw them. How wonderful to have a love for someone that strong. So strong that it has survived even though she doesn’t always know who he is, she sometimes asks why he is keeping her here and sometimes she lashes out at him. He loves her. That’s it. And that’s everything.

Now I know that under all that bluff and bluster is a heart of pure gold. If only I could make him an Aggies fan, we’d be golden.

 

Helpful Hint: If you’re making a bed and something suddenly tackles your ankles, do not automatically assume that you’re parents lied when they said the monster under the bed wasn’t real. It’s possible that the cat is playing Commando and didn’t see the need to inform you that you’re enemy #1.

One comment

  1. Tear!!!



Leave a comment